Hootie Johnson Was Missed

The Masters green jacket ceremony was something I always got a kick out of, as the people who have endured my Hootie Johnson impression can attest. He had such a classically southern charm to him, which you can soak in by watching last year’s ceremony. “I believe they’re coming in now” and “I know Jim’s got a few questions for you” are particularly great in his drawl.

I missed seeing the 2007 ceremony live because I was traveling Sunday night, so I went online to look for the video on Monday. Sadly, Hootie didn’t participate in the ceremony this year for winner Zack Johnson.

Some dude that Jim Nantz calls “Mr. Payne” was there instead. It was fun to hear Zack Johnson thank everyone from sponsor TransAmerica to “my lord and Jesus” but it didn’t come close to matching the campy fun that was Hootie Johnson emceeing these things. Wikipedia tells me that Hootie is no longer the chairman of Augusta National, too bad.

Leave a Reply

