Don Imus might call them “publicity whores”

The Rutgers basketball team is currently holding a news conference to tell us how wonderful they are and how evil Don Imus is. Is this really necessary? Isn’t this somewhat below the pay grade of the president of Rutgers University? Maybe I should get someone to insult me on the radio so that I can tell the media how great I really am.

I’m sorry they were insulted, but no one cares about women’s college basketball. There are plenty of people who are talented at various things and work hard and never get recognized. These young women are only in the spotlight because a famous radio host used some inflammatory language to call them ugly, and I’m sure that was upsetting. But again, I ask, why has this episode received so much more attention than various other insults that fly about on talk radio routinely?

Leave a Reply

