Arenas Wants a Piece of Duke

ESPN points out that the increasingly egomaniacal Gilbert Arenas has written on his NBA.com blog that he would score 84 or 85 points if given the chance to play against Duke. Apparently Arenas harbors some ill will toward Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski, who cut him from the US national team last year. I’ll let the All-Star starter explain in his own words:

Angry Arenas

One college game…that’s five fouls, right?…40-minute game…at Duke, they got soft rims…I’d probably score 84 or 85.

I wouldn’t pass the ball.

I wouldn’t even think about passing it. It would be like a NBA Live or an NBA 2K7 game, you just shoot with one person.

Yes, that’s just the attitude that the US team was missing when it lost to Greece at the World Championships. I’m sure the NBA loves having this selfless viewpoint expressed on its official league web site.

Dispensing with the sarcasm for a moment, I really don’t think it’s much of a snub to be left off the national team. It’s not like he was cut from the Wizards–there were other really good players on that team. Furthermore, I wonder if Arenas is upset that his Arizona team lost the NCAA championship game to Duke back in 2001, and if that’s at the root of his Coach K issues.

Before I’m attacked as a hibachi-hater here, let me say I’m all for the fun Arenas sometimes brings to the game, and I’m no Duke lover myself, but this strikes me as petty crap.

One Response to Arenas Wants a Piece of Duke

  1. […] written before that I find Arenas classless, and this is more evidence of that. You know all those people on the internet who think, “Oh, […]

Leave a Reply

